With enormous regret I have taken legal action

I first became concerned about the Liberal Democrats’ complaints system years ago. All political parties face challenges when handling internal disciplinary matters, but the systemic problems of the party’s complaints system have troubled me more and more.

Despite efforts by some colleagues and myself to raise these issues and obtain appropriate assurances, none have been forthcoming.

In March of this year, I received a sprawling, disorganised, ill-defined, lengthy complaint filed by a senior fellow-member of the party.

I indicated a few days ago that I was considering standing to be elected as the Federal President of the party, in the forthcoming Federal elections scheduled for this December. Nominations open on 12th September.

Eight days ago, on Friday 2nd September 2022, late in the day, I received notification from the party’s standards office that I was to be expelled, permanently, and would never be able to hold office again in or for the party.

I have never before been found guilty of any internal party complaint.

The panel ruling was factually inaccurate in important respects, at the end of a process which has been enormously time-consuming, but gave me little realistic chance of defending myself.

The systemic problems to which I have referred mean that, in my opinion, the panel was not independent. As the party’s procedures have recently been altered, an internal appeal route now exists on limited grounds, and not to the party’s Federal Appeals Panel, which has displayed admirable independence of mind, but to another panel similar to, and likely to be no more independent than, the first one.

To defend myself, discharge the elected mandate I received to represent ordinary members on the Federal Board and defend the rights of those party members who like me have had their political aspirations blighted by the misuse of the party’s processes, with enormous regret I have taken legal action.

I hope this will allow me to seek the nominations I require to be able to stand for election as Federal President of the party.

I do not yet know whether the party will challenge this action.

I seek fair and reasonable outcomes not only for myself, but also for the members of the party who count on it to conduct itself properly.

At this time, millions of potential Lib Dem voters are longing for an alternative to the present government. Transparency, decency, fair and reasonable behaviour should be the cornerstone of the party whose aims I passionately support, that I was proud to help found and have actively worked for as a volunteer ever since.

It has become increasingly clear to me that the Liberal Democrats have a problem. Therefore, the country has one too.

10 thoughts on “With enormous regret I have taken legal action

  1. Jo the party must understand the extent of the disquiet their action against such a long serving servant of the party will cause. Faith in the ability of the disciplinary system to function effectively disapeared long ago as experienced by any of us who been involved with it and where the usual outcome is ‘go away and play nicely’ . The repurcusions of this will be considerable I fear.

    Like

    1. It wasn’t set up by Tories, but the effect is the same. Tories and all our other opponents (who, let’s face it, have just had their own damaging public infighting) are probably rubbing their hands as they watch us dissipate our energies in futile internal conflict and distract attention from theirs.

      Like

  2. Jo, reading this, it appears the party has acted much as it did with David Ward and Jenny Tonge – extremely unreasonably. And when it has made a serious mistake (it certainly did in those two cases) it doesn’t like to admit it, or apologise. What is missing at the moment is what you are supposed to have done wrong. Are you able to tell us?

    Like

    1. I’m not at the moment, but I can give some background. Party member Jason Hunter was an approved parliamentary and European parliamentary candidate. He became a victim of a harassment campaign led by Lyndsey Knox, a Lib Dem council candidate in Chelmsford, who was later prosecuted. He protested at the party’s failure to do anything about the harassment, and resigned. A few months later I became regional candidates chair, and I had to find a candidate for Essex Police Fire and Crime Commissioner. I persuaded Jason to rejoin and asked for an expedited assessment day place for him so he could be the candidate. That was adamantly refused and he was told that he had to wait a year before he could apply for approval. I disagreed, took it to the Federal Appeals Panel and won (the decision is published on the FAP web pages) but it was too late for the election. Meanwhile Jason had complained to the Information Commissioner’s Office of a data breach in that GDPR protected data about him was shared. The ICO in Feb 2022 issued a letter upholding Jason’s complaint. The letter is in the public domain.

      Like

Leave a comment